General Comments

The run, originally 17km, started in 1981, sponsored by the Kaiser Stuhl Winery. It started at the winery at Nuriootpa and went along an out and back course
towards Seppeltsfield and finished at the Nuriootpa Oval. In 1984, the event was changed to the half marathon distance of 21.1km and turned at Seppeltsfield. The local Apex club took over the events in 1985 and the next event was held in 1986 (not run in 1985 because the organiser was overseas).

The Barossa Runners Club took over in 1989 with local runners organising and participating in the race. The Runners Club changed the course in 1992 to start and finish at the Barossa Recreation Centre, Tanunda, to provide a safer and faster course for the runners.

In 1993 the Runners Club was awarded the right to incorporate the Athletics SA State Half Marathon Championships in the event which retained the championship until 2012since. The course has been measured to International Amateur Athletic Federation / Athletics Australia standards allowing runners to gain a place in the national rankings.

In 1995 the programme was expanded to include 5.5km and 10km events, allowing further participation by a wider range of runners and walkers. The events are increasingly popular with walkers and their families.

In 1996 the Barossa Half Marathon Committee became the new organisers of the events. They continued their predecessors’ policy of awarding medallions to place getters in numerous age group categories, sponsor’s bags to all finishers and random draw prizes. Additionally in 1999 a Barossa Legends Group Award (participants completing five and ten events) was introduced to encourage continuing participation by half marathon runners and walkers. This became very popular and there are now more than 50 Barossa Legends, led by Adam Zur Eich who has finished the half marathon 27 times.

In 2005 the South Australian Runners Club took over the event. SARRC aims to maintain the standard and local support the event enjoys and also to ease the load for organisers by use of the SARRC office for entry processing. Jacobs Creek became the major sponsor in 2010. For 2011, the half marathon had an early turn so the results have been adjusted.

In 2012 The Jacobs Creek Barossa Marathon was added to the events.

In 2018 and 2019 The Barossa Marathon Festival were held in the Spring rather than Autumn (swapping places with the Adelaide Marathon Festival). Due to COVID-19 the 2020 event was pushed back to Autumn 2021.

The event records for the half marathon are held by Australian marathon legend Steve Moneghetti with 1:06:44 in 2001 and Lee-Ann Turner who ran 1:18:04 in 2005. In the marathon Paul Mulholland recorded 2:34:39 in 2019 and Noo Bowker finished in 3:02:15 in 2018. The 10km records are held by Rhys Jones with 31:36 in 2011 and Jessica Trengove with 34:32 in 2017.

Barossa Marathon, Half Marathon, 10km, and 5km results

Full: 2023 2022 2021 (2020 no run) 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 2014 2013 2012 2011(adjusted) 2010 2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004 2003 2002 2001 2000 1999 1998 1997 1996 1995 1994 1993 1992 1991 1990 1989 1988 1987 1986 1985(no run) 1984 1983 1982 1981

Age Groups: 2015 2014 2013 2012   2011

Searchable Barossa Half and Marathon Results (1981-2016) Here

About Us

At the South Australian Road Runners Club (SARRC) it is our vision that every man, woman and child should have an opportunity to run. SARRC was originally established in 1980 for people interested in running the Adelaide Marathon.

More+    _

South Australian Road Runners Club
0403 039 307
467 Morphett St, Adelaide, SA 5000

Social Media

Instagram Logo